Servers Learn Windows XP Professional: Managing Groups in Windows XP Professional (Page 7)...

Learn Windows XP Professional: Managing Groups in Windows XP Professional (Page 7) Page 7




Built-In System Groups

Built-in system groups exist on Windows XP Professional
systems, and while they do have specific memberships that you
can modify, you cannot administer the groups directly. They
are available for modification only when you assign user rights and permissions to
resources. Built-in system group membership is based on how
the computer is accessed, not on who uses the computer. The
list below shows the primary built-in system groups and
their default properties and characteristics.

Built-in
System Group

Description

Everyone
The Everyone group
contains all of the users who access the computer. The
Full Control permission is assigned to the Everyone
group (and thus all the users in it) whenever there are
volumes on the local system formatted with NTFS.

Authenticated Users
All users with valid
user accounts on the local system are included in the
Authenticated Users group. When your Windows XP system
is a member of a domain (or multiple domains), it
includes all users in the Active Directory database for
that given domain. Using the Authenticated Users group
for resource and system access instead of the Everyone
group is a suggested best practice.

Creator Owner
The Creator Owner
designation comes into play when a member of the
Administrators group creates a resource (or takes
ownership of a resource), because even though an
individual member may have performed the action, the
Administrators group owns the resource.

Network
The Network Built-in
System group contains any user with a current connection
from a remote system on the network to a shared resource
on the local system.

Interactive

Members of the
Interactive Built-in System group are “added” as they
log on locally to the system.

Anonymous Logon           An Anonymous Logon user
account that Windows XP Professional cannot authenticate
is put into this Built-in System group. 

Dialup Users are “added” to the
Dialup Built-in System group once they establish a
dial-up connection to the system.

You can set or revoke
permissions to these Built-in System groups at the resource.
(e.g. share, NTFS folder, printer, etc.)


[NOTES FROM THE FIELD] –
The Dialup Built-in System group does not appear on
systems that do not have modems installed and dial up
configurations in place.

That’s a
wrap for this week. Be sure to check back in next week for
the next article in this series.

In
the meantime, best of luck in your
studies and please feel free to contact me with any
questions on my column and remember,


“Never tell me the odds”


Jason Zandri
[email protected]


www.2000trainers.com

Latest Posts

How to Convert a Physical Computer to a Virtual Machine

Many organizations are implementing virtualization technology into their networks to convert physical computers to virtual machines (VM). This helps reduce overall physical hardware costs,...

HPE ProLiant DL380 Gen10: Rack Server Overview and Insight

The HPE ProLiant DL380 series has consistently been a market leader in the server space. The Gen10 released in 2017 further increased HPE's market...

Best Server Management Software & Tools 2021

Finding the best server management software tools for your organization can have a major impact on the success of your business operations. Manually handling...

IBM AS/400: Lasting the Test of Time

Some server operating systems (OS) were built to survive the test of time – the IBM AS/400 is one such system.  The AS/400 (Application System/400)...

What is Disaster Recovery?

The modern organization's heavy dependence on using data to drive their business has made having a Disaster Recovery (DR) plan in place a necessity....

Related Stories