dcsimg

Learn Win XP Pro in 15 Minutes a Week: User Rights and User Privileges Page 3

By ServerWatch Staff (Send Email)
Posted May 23, 2003


Members of the built in Backup Operators group can back up and restore files on the local system. Members of this group need no additional access to the data other than membership to this group in order to back up the data on the local system. The right to perform a backup takes precedence over all file and folder level security permissions.

There are no user accounts in this group by default.

Members of the built in Backup Operators group are granted the following user privileges by default:

  • Back up files and directories
  • Bypass traverse checking
  • Restore files and directories
  • Shut down the system.

Members of the built in Guests group on Windows XP Professional systems will have limited access to the computer. The local Guest account is disabled by default and is a default member of the Guests local group. Members of the built in Guest group have no explicit user privileges by default.

Members of the built in HelpServicesGroup allow an administrator to set rights that will be used across all support applications. By default, the only group member is the account associated with Microsoft support applications, such as Remote Assistance, and regular users should not be added to this group. The HelpServicesGroup has no explicit user privileges by default.

Members of the built in Power Users group can create user accounts and local groups. They can also modify and delete just those accounts and groups they have created. They can also add or remove users from the Power Users, Users, and Guests groups as well as create shared resources and administer the shared resources they have created. The limitations to the Power Users group have been set so that they cannot perform data back ups or restorations, they cannot take ownership of files, nor can they manage audit or security logs. They are also prevented from loading or unloading device drivers.

There are no user accounts in this group by default.

Members of the built in Power Users group are granted the following User Privileges by default:

  • Bypass traverse checking
  • Change the system time
  • Profile single process
  • Remove computer from docking station
  • Shut down the system.

Page 3 of 4


Comment and Contribute

Your name/nickname

Your email

(Maximum characters: 1200). You have characters left.