Remove Server Roles in Windows Server 2003 Page 2

By Jason Zandri (Send Email)
Posted Mar 21, 2003


From the Manage Your Server welcome page (shown above), you will choose Add or Remove a Role and you will be presented with the Preliminary Steps screen where you can read the information and verify that all of the network connections are available. You can also check to see if you have the needed installation path information (or the cd) to the Windows Server 2003 setup files.

From here, the setup wizard will test your available and enabled network connections and bring you to the Server Role screen. If you wanted to add another role to this Application Server you would choose another role (File Server for example) and click next to continue. This would allow the wizard to continue with installing the new role. Since we wish to remove a role, we will select a role that is already configured on the server and click NEXT to remove it.

On the Role Removal Confirmation screen you will see the summary of what will be done to the system in order to remove the current role. In some cases components will be removed and in others services will be disabled.

The next step of the process is to remove the role, so this screen has a check box that you must select before you can choose NEXT to continue. (You may note that in the screen shot the box is not checked and the NEXT button is not available.)

After you choose NEXT the wizard immediately begins to remove the role. The "Are You Sure" prompt is the previous screen's checkbox and the NEXT box is grayed out.

Page 2 of 3


Comment and Contribute

Your name/nickname

Your email

(Maximum characters: 1200). You have characters left.