Backing Up Data -- Permissions Intact Page 6

By ServerWatch Staff (Send Email)
Posted Nov 21, 2002

For this particular operation of a quick solution to copy or move selected data to a new location and retain all of the previously set NTFS permissions in a domain environment, we will choose the Alternate Location option, set the path and click Next.

Depending on your needs, you can realistically choose any of the options available on the How to Restore screen. For the purposes of maintaining NTFS security on files and folders, always replace the file on disk (to overwrite existing files with the updated ones and the proper security context) should be selected.

The next screen is the Advanced Restore Options page. Here, you elect to keep your current level of NTFS security by verifying the Restore security checkbox is selected. (This is the default selection.)

Comment and Contribute

Your name/nickname

Your email

(Maximum characters: 1200). You have characters left.



Thanks for your registration, follow us on our social networks to keep up-to-date